Translucent 

Nothing makes you feel more lonely 

Than a day in Times Square 

Let’s be clear here 

The day was beautiful

Insightful just like you think 

There’s too many descriptions 

Poems you can find elsewhere 

Describing this beautiful 

Yet vast and mysterious city

My words could do it no justice

But as I found myself sitting 

In the heart of millions of people 

All with their own life 

All experiencing moments

You start to feel the loneliness 

It creeps in 

Ever so slowly 

Like a wave crashing the shore

With every passing face

It starts to wash over you

You find yourself 

Deep in the heart of the city 

With love booming

Yet that feeling of loneliness 

Grows bigger

Grows stronger

It consumes you

Maybe suburbia has cradled me

When I’m actually alone 

I can find solitude and comfort

In my own things my room my bed

But in this city

Filled with millions of souls

Searching for meaning 

You could be so alone

Leave a Reply

