Growing Up: Learning to accept your parents for who they are. 

December 28th, Winter

Now growing up we all admired our parents. They were superheros to us. They could do things we couldn’t do! Drive a car, pick up ridiculously heavy things, know answers to questions we had. But as we got older we all went through that stage. That stage of our beloved superhero turning into one of the most villainous of dictators ever. Our teen years most of us, except the lucky ones who had super chill parents, were not too keen of our parents. They didn’t let us go out, they didn’t let us see that friend that we wanted to hang out with, they didn’t let us go on that road trip. So when we finally found freedom at 18, either going away to college, moving out, or getting a job and car and not being home much we started to grow apart from them. You start to realize things once you hit this stage and especially in your early 20s. You may hate everything about your parents. Their ideologies, political views, the way they talk, world views, and other things in which you started to carve into your life to define you. This happened to me and it hit me like a WRECKING BALL. (hi miley) But anyways let me give you a brief example of this.

My mother, the woman who has always had my back since I can remember, the woman that pushed me to be the best I could be, the lady who taught me such much about being a decent and great person; I grew to start despising. It wasn’t her fault and it necessarily wasn’t mine either. When I started to grow as a person, find myself, and instill these traits to become the person I am; I was and my ideologies were starting to combat with my mother’s. One specific example is the topic of the LGBTQ community. I am a ally and I support the community 100%. My mother isn’t so keen. Shes in no way homophobic but her religious background is what keeps her at bay from the community. Also my faith, or lack there of, has been a topic of many arguments with my mother and even daily picks at each other. She constantly combats me on why I choose to be an Atheist while I could care less about her religious faith but she does try to force it on me a lot. That is one thing I can’t stand. Another example and the greatest of examples is how my mum is. She’s a very combative person in general, she likes to yell, argue, correct everything you do, says some of the worst stuff that comes to mind to make you feel bad, then turns it around on you as if you were the bad person. This has lead to many fights to the point I left my house for 2 weeks during my summer break from college.

Through this and talks with my dad I found some great information. You have to learn to accept your parents flaws because they are older and no matter how much you want them to change the likeliness of them changing as a person is slim to none. Regardless of how you feel your parents still love you to death and those superheros you knew as a child still exist (and still show up sometimes to help you out when you’re older). Even through the 4 years of rough patches with my mum we still had good times and now that I have found that clarity and accepted my mum for who she is I’ve learned to not take things too serious. She is who she is and we have such a better relationship now. The importance of a relationship with your parents is astronomical. Well to me it is. I’ve always wanted the type of parents I could tell anything and they could tell me anything. A strong family unit is important to me and to keep that you have to learn to roll with some of the punches. Love your old folks no matter what because at the end of the day they are the only parents you have. More importantly they love you unconditionally.It’s okay to disagree with your parents even a argument here or there because we are human. But if you can still say I love you at the end of the day, kiss and make up that’s all that matters. A part of growing up is accepting that some things can’t change and one of those are your creators. So love them, cherish them, and remember they tolerated your crazy ass for 18 years, maybe more, you can tolerate them for some years as well.

-Blake

Thanks for reading guys. I know I haven’t done this in a while but the “not so new” album from Silversun Pickups “Better Nature” is fucking amazing I keep it on repeat. They are easily one of my favorite bands ever. Check out my favorite song from them “Nightlight” below.

 

Leave a Reply

